By Torre Henderson, Guest Blogger

Torre

Hi there!  I’d like to introduce myself.  I’m Torre Henderson and I’m two and a half.  I live near Boston with my Mom Cindy, and my two big bros Jeter and Mattingly.  Can you tell Mom’s a bit of a Yankees fan?  I was visiting my Aunt Shari this week and Dusty’s humans came over to play.  Dusty asked Christine to see if I’d like to add anything to the blog. How could I turn it down?

First of all, I have to say Cooper’s Mom is a super good sport.  I know baseball. Mom and Aunt Shari watch a lot of it!  I hear it’s not easy being a Mets fan.  I totally get that sportsmanship thing. Me and my brothers live to play flyball.  We go all over the country for competitions and we even were part of group trying to set a Guiness World Record.  How cool is that?  If you’ve never heard of flyball, I’ll give you the short version.  Dogs race down a track, jump of a series of hurdles, grab a ball from a special holder and race it back to the other end.  We have to get three balls, so that’s three trips up the track and three trips back.  We go really fast.  I’m a miniature Australian Shepherd.  Jeter and Mattingly are border collies.  I don’t mean to brag or anything but we have an awful lot of blue ribbons.  Mom is really proud of us.  This weekend, she’s taking us to Canada and Aunt Shari is coming too. Road trip! Gee, I hope Aunt Shari remembers her high school French and can order my some of that Canadian bacon.  Mmmmm….bacon…..oh sorry.  I was daydreaming for a minute there.

I do have to side with Cooper about the fetch thing.  Sorry Sam the Fat Cat, but I could play fetch all day long.  I fetch tennis balls, squeaky toys, frisbees, and my favorite canvas flying squirrel with the little rubbery paws.  Fetch is one of the simple joys of life.  It’s right up there with a doggy ice cream cup on a hot day or a great day of flyball with my teammates.  There’s just something special about trying to psych out a human, trying to figure out where they’re going to throw the thing next and be there when it comes down.  I love the feel of a flying catch!  Woohoo!!  It’s a little jump for joy.

It was so nice of Dusty to send her boys over here to play fetch with me.  I have to say though, humans get worn out mighty quick.  I heard the boys say Dusty doesn’t play fetch.  So Dusty, what’s up with that?

